Christina Bradley

A great WordPress.com site

Digital Ownership…. Poor Fran

on May 2, 2014

In class today, a fellow student stated that someone had re blogged her post. Dimensions of Learning Framework by Fran Gemmell was re posted by another student without any comments about how this was relevant to them as a student for a learning perspective or how it could be applied to them . We discussed, whether their re posting would contribute to their word count and required posts and whether other students were doing the same in order to meet the requirements of this course.

This got me thinking about the ownership of digital work online. Digital Ownership is defined as proprietary rights over virtual assets (Collins English Dictionary, 2000). The blog that was created by Fran and was a reflection of her learning. Applying the definition of Digital Ownership to Fran’s blog it is clear that this blog belonged to Fran. The question that we have to ask ourselves when putting our thoughts and information onto the web for all to see is, ‘does this allow others to use our work and pass it off as their own and do we lose ownership of this work as soon as we post it to the web?’ It seems to me that we lose control over the reproduction of our work once we post it to the web.

My final thought is that when we post to the net, we assume that those who view our work will do so with integrity and in good conscious and not reproduce it as their own. Obviously this is not always the case, so how do we ensure that this does not happen and from an educational standpoint, how do we ensure the authenticity of students work to ensure a fair outcome for all?

 

Reference – 

Collins English Dictionary. (2000). Dictionary . Retrieved May 2, 2014, from Digital Ownership definition: http://dictionary.reverso.net/english-definition/Digital%20Ownership

 

 

 

13 responses to “Digital Ownership…. Poor Fran

  1. David Jones says:

    G’day Christina, First, would like to point out a small typo. The link to Fran’s post is slightly incorrect – it won’t work if you click on it. You have http// instead of http://

    Now onto more important matters, the questions you raise in your post. I have noticed this year the rise of the “reblog”. It wasn’t something that was apparent last year, but it appears that the WordPress interface has changed to make this more prevalent. When I first saw this, one of my first thoughts was that this practice could be used – as you worry – to pad out word counts.

    Most examples I’ve seen do include a comment. or two. The case you describe sounds differently.

    This is not the first time I’ve thought about how students could be “playing the game” to get a mark. Early on last year I wondered how much a cage I should build into the course. There are some comments on that post from past students.

    Given some time I’m going to be exploring this in more detail, including exploring just why this sort of practice arises.

    As for the question of ownership, I think placing your material online certainly enables people to pass your work off as their own. It may make it easy to do this, but I don’t believe it allows them to. The same expectations should still apply.

    There are all sorts of interesting questions that arise from this. May try to work this into the Digital Citizenship material this week.

    In terms of the authenticity of student work, I don’t think that’s a problem that arises simply from using a blog or other ICT. Given the rise of the Internet, it’s increasingly easy to get content for any type of student work. There’s a whole range of questions about this as well.

    At least with reblogging, there is typically some acknowledgment of the original work.

    David.

  2. rachelharlen says:

    Wow… Until David had added this to the learning path I had not even considered re-blogging as a way to ‘pad out’ my blogs.. in saying that the re-blogs do not read well in my Feedly app on my iPhone so I tend to ‘skip’ these posts so I have not taken a great deal of notice. They say that necessity is the mother of invention, and this is quite ingenious, so in some regards I would like to give the excessive re-bloggers a little leeway as this semester has been very heavy on content and perhaps this is the only way they can keep up and help guarantee their 5 marks… However, if you, and I, and I would hope the majority of other students can manage the required number of post and words they should be able to as well… At the end of the day its a bit unsavory and not tasteful but also not entirely wrong… like a lot of things associated with the digital age, this is very much a grey area…
    P.S Great Blog!

  3. […] On this note I want to reblog Christina’s post as it really makes you think. Great job! https://u1003618.wordpress.com/2014/05/02/digital-ownership-poor-fran/  I would like to point out that I am using Christina’s post as an inspiration tool. I did […]

  4. […] forms of task corruption going on. Over the weekend, however, I became aware of a different type task corruption going on. It appears that at least some students are simply “reblogging” the posts of […]

  5. kaylatudman says:

    Reblogged this on kaylatudman and commented:
    At first I was ready to respond to the learning paths question of whether re-blogging was a misuse of technology… I automatically thought; “NO!? re-blogging is excellent, I’m reading other people’s thoughts and sharing their knowledge and wisdom with my followers!!!” Then I read Christina Bradleys perspective of re-blogging that they’d discussed during class and my own perspective has changed. As Christina has said, some people are only re-blogging people’s work to adhere to the course requirements and get their word counts up, an easy 5/5. “That’s not very fair…” I thought, “I re-blog people’s posts to recognise their ideas and share their findings with my followers, making full recognition to the author… This is what everyone should be doing, Right? Whilst adhering to the course requirements…”
    Therefore, re-blogging does and can become a misuse of technology as we’re urging students to plagiarise other peoples work, claiming other people’s hard worked hours of thoughts and findings as their own. That is not fair and we’re certainly not using technology correctly.

    On a positive I find the idea of blogging an excellent idea and way for students share information with others. Perhaps instead of requesting re-blogging students should only be commenting and discussing another’s blog post, which could then be posted to their pages. That would be a fair outcome in my opinion in accordance to Christina’s question.

  6. […] through EDC3100 week 10 working path and was further investigated when I read the suggested blog Digital ownership…. poor Fran by Christina Bradley. Up until now I had no idea what Re blogging was but i had become aware that […]

  7. […] This post by Christina raises some interesting points. In my posts when I am referencing other peoples posts I always make sure that I state who made the comments and add my ideas to them. I always say who it was who made the post. But some people don’t and I personally believe that this is wrong. It is passing off someone else’s work as your own. In using that definition it is basically plagiarism. Blogs are useful to use as a learning aid as it gives students the chance to build on other peoples ideas but are people thinking of this concept to lightly, as if it is just a conversation between people and no one needs tell who said what? […]

  8. […]  I followed the link on the studydesk and came across a post by a fellow student on the topic of reblogging.  For those of you who don’t know what reblogging is, I have found some information here. […]

    • Richard says:

      Hmm, an interesting debate. I guess that there are those who re-blog to get to the word count needed, and others who re-blog to genuinely gain an understanding of a concept of interest and wish to share it. This is evident just by reading the above comments. However, more than 20 re-blogs does seem a little extreme.

      I didn’t realize that we could reblog or even know what reblogging was. As a lonely online student with no one to talk to except my e-friends from USQ, I don’t struggle to make it to the word count – quite the opposite. In saying this, I might try re-blogging interesting parts of posts though…starting with this blog post.

  9. u1001701 says:

    Reblogged this on EDC3100 ICT & Pedagogy.

  10. […] I found it interesting to read a post by Christiana Bradley called Digital Ownership…Poor Fran. […]

  11. […] regards to Christina’s post about Digital Ownership, I believe she is right in her belief that we lose control of our work once […]

  12. […] with the course I have spent some time looking through some other students blogs. At this time, this blog in particular caught my eye as quite an impressive effort. Makes my blog look a bit ordinary […]

Leave a Reply

